Cause of Death? Lack of Insurance

 

A new Harvard study estimates that nearly 45,000 Americans die each year because they don’t have health insurance — and that’s after other factors like income and unhealthy behaviors are taken into account.

"Deaths associated with lack of health insurance now exceed those caused by many common killers such as kidney disease," an article by the Cambridge Health Alliance reports.

The study says the uninsured have a 40% higher risk of death than people who have private health insurance — like the insurance you get through your job. Or, to put it another way, a person dies because of a lack of insurance every 12 minutes. 

Of course, some people neglect their health. But many, we suspect, don’t see a doctor because they’re afraid of the cost. Doctor visits and tests can add up to an intimidating amount, even if you’re uninsured but have a good income. A CNN story put a human face on some of these avoidable deaths — a freelance cameraman, a self-employed mother of two, and a 25-year-old woman who worked in a movie theater.

Source: Smart Spending Blog

healthinsurance

Let me explain my stance on the matter.  I am not a fan of insurance in principle.  The idea of paying for something in the case that something “might” happen is a similar model to what the mafia used during its protection racket heyday.  The sad truth is that healthcare costs have become so astronomical that the “necessity” of insurance has become a prominent concern for everyone.  I happen to believe that insurance is one of the leading contributors to the rising costs, but that is merely my opinion. 

I happened to have an enormous amount of medical bills, and don’t have insurance.  While I won’t get into the fact that if you ever do get sick insurance companies will do ANYTHING they can to get rid of you, I will admit that having insurance initially could have saved me a lot of money.  With that being said, there is no doubt that my overall costs would be unaffected because I would have been dropped from any policy that I may have been on. 

Last night, I was notified that DeVry and Keller School of Management students HAVE TO have insurance through the school.  This really pisses me off, and screams of a cash grab by the university.  We don’t have an option and the minimum cost of $280 will automatically be applied to our accounts.  I am all for healthcare for everyone, but I don’t want the private sector making it mandatory!  This is especially true when the policy is something that I have no control over! 

~ by jvaudio on October 2, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
